EN 6th Odessa International Film Festival Announces Its Winners 07 2015

On July 18, 2015, the Odessa Academic Theatre of Musical Comedy hosted the closing ceremony of the 6th Odessa International Film Festival. The Grand Prix of the OIFF, determined by audience voting, went to Mustang, the Turkish film by Deniz Gamze Ergüven. The international Jury headed by Jeanne Labrune announced winners for Best Film, Best Director, and Best Actor. Eva Neymann was awarded the Golden Duke award for Song of Songs as Best Ukrainian feature film and Best Film of the International Competition program as determined by the Jury. Ukrainian filmmaker Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy handed the Golden Duke award for Lifetime Achievement to Darren Aronofsky.
Darren Aronofsky was the first one on the stage this evening to receive the honorary Golden Duke award for Lifetime Achievement. Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy, a director of the most award-winning Ukrainian film The Tribe, came on the stage to present the award to the American director and a special guest of the OIFF-2015. “To get an award like this from the director I deeply respect is a great honor. It’s a little strange to get a Lifetime Achievement Award when I feel not that old. But now that I have it I can retire and make no more films (laughs). So, I am going to move to Odessa, get a house on the beach and just have a party for the next 40 years. You have an amazing and a beautiful city of Odessa, and an amazing country, and I am happy to have Ukrainian roots” — said Darren Aronofsky from the stage.
Before presenting Best Feature Film of the National Competition, the Jury of the National Competition Program expressed their support to the Ukrainian director Oleg Sentsov, who is illegally detained for more than a year by Russian authorities on terrorism charges.
Eva Neymann’s Song of Songs was recognized the Best film of the National Competition. Richard Cook (Ireland), a member of the National Competition Jury, handed the Golden Duke figure and UAH 50,000 prize to the winner.
Jury of the National Competition awarded a special mention to Ostap Kostyuk, the director of a documentary Living Fire.
Eva Neymann’s Song of Songs also won the Jury’s Grand Prix of the International Competition for Best Film and received a monetary prize equivalent to EUR 4,000.
Deniz Gamze Ergüven was recognized as Best Director (EUR 2,000) for her debut Mustang. Best Actor (EUR 1,000) went to Israeli actress Tamar Alkan who played the lead part in The Man in the Wall.
Jury Special Mentions were given to Alexey Fedorchenko, the director of Angels of Revolution, for “brilliant presentation of the Russian avant-garde,” and Ciro Guerra, director of Embrace of the Serpent, for “an incredible mix of travels through the Amazon jungle and eternal wandering through fundamental themes for humanity.”
Grand Prix of the 6th Odessa International Film Festival for Best Film in the International Competition program, determined by audience voting, went to Mustang by Deniz Gamze Ergüven. The director of the film received a statuette of Golden Duke and a prize of EUR 6,000. The President of the Festival, Viktoriya Tigipko, presented the award to the winner.
“It is a great pleasure to realize that all the main winners of the 6th Odessa International Film Festival are women. Moreover, two female directors received two awards each. This year OIFF audience reached 120,000 visits, which is 15,000 visits more than the last year. I believe it is a positive sign that here, in Ukraine, peace is taking over and the great future awaits for us” — said Viktoriya Tigipko, the President of the festival at the closing ceremony.
The closing film of the 6th Odessa International Film Festival was Sweet Red Bean Paste, Un Certain Regard opener at Cannes 2015, by Japanese director Naomi Kawase. Kirin Kiki, a recognized Japanese film and TV actress who played a lead part in the movie, and Durian Sukegawa, film’s script writer, presented Sweet Red Bean Paste at the OIFF closing ceremony.
7th Odessa International Film Festival will be help from July 15 till July 23 2016.